I have a new favorite set of dumb pages: two nurses apparently were trying to divide their work load, and were taking turns calling to ask me questions about the other’s patient. Then, an hour or two later, the other nurse would call to ask the same question, since apparently the division of labor didn’t extend to passing along the answer. I kid you not, they did this a couple of times last night. Silly me, it seemed simpler to just answer the question again than to get into it farther, so I didn’t say much.

I am now officially tired of being on night float. I get to feeling like I’m walking through a valley waiting for ambushes. It’s not so much the patients I’ve been told about – this guy has low urine output, this one will need to be admitted, we’re expecting a transfer, that one is bleeding – it’s the ones I don’t know about. The day people didn’t put any post-op orders on this complex patient, could you please write some right now so they can go to the floor? This patient has a very messy wound dressing and no one changed it all day, please come and fix. And then the number of foley consults. . . quite quite enough of those.

I don’t know whether to be happy or not that the medicine interns – now in addition to the ER folks -┬áseem to have figured out that I’m friendly and available for asking random questions of: what do we with this gtube problem? this foley problem? this iv access problem? I don’t really know as much as they think I do, either, or perhaps it would be simpler to deal with these non-consults.

How about if we skip to April now?

Although April 1st won’t be much fun either. After working the night shift, I get to round on a new set of patients, then sit through what promises to be an extremely boring set of lectures, all morning, and then proceed with the rest of the day’s work. But it will be worth it to get off of nights. I’ll just need to find the right seat in the back of the lecture hall, and maybe get some coffee, which is always good for putting me to sleep.

There ought to be some good news around here somewhere: I’ve learned a lot about the specialties I’ve been covering, and I think I’m getting a little better at figuring out when to call for help and when not.

