I forgot how much I hated, er, didn’t like, trauma. It’s pleasant to be back in a closed unit where the nurses recognize me, and most of them seem to like me (as in, they’re very happy to have me back around because I do scut the fastest, like reordering meds, and fixing orders that other people put in wrong, or coming quickly when they want someone to look at the patient).

On the other hand, as I said, I forgot how much I hate rounding all day. This weekend, fortunately for all who are interested in my sanity, the most annoying attendings are not rounding. The one who was, however, has certifiable ADD; so does the chief; and I come close, especially in their company. Neither of them can finish a sentence, let alone a train of thought, without jumping to something else, and then jumping back halfway through. The chief and I get along well, because I’m just scatterbrained enough to follow his jumps, and guilty of it enough myself that I can’t get as annoyed with him as other people do. (Incidentally, I don’t believe in ADD either; but it’s a convenient label that lets you all know what I mean.)

But rounds with the three of us was kind of crazy. I’d recite all the facts on a patient, the attending scribbling away and giving a very good impression of listening. Then he’d give some orders about the patient we’d just walked away from, run into the next room to check on something, come back, and ask me whether I’d mentioned a blood pressure or a fever on the patient, and what did the CT results show? So I would repeat what I had just told him. “Let me see the chest xray. Oh good.” Run back into the room to look at the pulse ox. Back out. “We need to start tube feeds. What’s the white count? Did we order a CT for the last guy? Has this person had a head CT recently? Is neurosurgery going to come see the guy down the hall?” And every time you start an answer, he moves on to the next one, then comes back, impatient because you haven’t answered the last several questions.

It works ok, because we’re all conscientious enough to make notes, and keep coming back to go over things until it all gets covered. But it does get a little wearing, and the nurses were left standing there with a dazed look, saying, “Were you talking about my patient at all, and if you were, did you decide to do anything important?”

