In the absence of any medical subjects of interest to write about, I’ll throw in my two cents worth about Sarah Palin: As someone who determined from the minute his name was mentioned that I would never vote for McCain – I’m impressed by his VP choice.

I don’t think it’s enough to make me vote for McCain (if you read this blog, you’ll know that I’m too far off the ultra-right wing/libertarian side to like his straight-down-the-middle politics), but Palin is certainly enough to make me think two and three times. She knows an easy solution to the rising gas prices (drill in ANWR; why do we have to give all our oil money to the Arabs?); she supports gun rights; she’s lived out the pro-life commitment to the value of all human lives (keeping a Down’s baby, as busy as she is, takes some commitment, no matter how much help she may have) (which balances out my biggest gripe with McCain, which is that he sprouted pro-life ideas overnight during this election season); she has some executive experience. We could stand to know more about her ideas on several other key issues (terrorism, immigration, taxes), but based on her record so far, I’m optimistic that once she has the chance to talk, small-government conservatives will at least be mollified by what she says.

McCain made a pretty smart choice: someone who has everything that he lacks to get the conservative Republican base excited about his candidacy – and a woman. I’m also not a feminist, but from plain schadenfreude, I’m tickled to see the Republicans as the ones running a serious female candidate on a national ticket. (I’m not sure Ferraro counted as serious. And Hillary didn’t make it onto a ticket.) It’s going to be fun watching the feminists go through their contortions for the next few months, trying to explain why they don’t want a woman as vice president (and a vice president who incidentally stands a good chance to inherit the presidency; a fact which could make me even happier about voting for them).

Caveat: There’s a catch, of course. In addition to distrusting McCain himself, who is still the lead name, I probably won’t vote Republican this year because it’s inappropriate/wrong for a married mother of five to hold a position of such authority, and one that will take her so much away from her family. It’s a little pointless to have five children, and then not raise them wholeheartedly. And as vice president, one step away from the presidency, her authority will far supercede her husband’s, which is not right. Fun as it maybe to have the Republicans running the female candidate, I still don’t want a woman in the White House.