We’re going to try again with the more-frequent-posting concept. Exercising, eating, and sleeping, not to mention studying for the ABSITE, do compete for time. I slept a whole extra hour the other night, and felt on top of the world all day. I ought to try that more often. . .

I’m on the thoracic service now, which seems pleasant enough: busy enough not to get boring, but not as overwhelming as cardiac. I actually get to do some cases, which is surprising and nice. On the other hand, there isn’t the liters of blood in the chest tubes that we had on cardiac, and not the same propensity to go rushing back to open up the same incision you just closed a few hours before; so I’m in adrenaline-withdrawal.

Studying for the ABSITE is occupying more attention (or at least, procrastinating about studying). A friend who I think is very intelligent, in practice a good doctor, and could spout all kinds of data and treatment algorithms by heart, failed the written boards. I was scared just listening to this person studying – I’ve never studied that hard. And now they failed, after all that work – I am going to be in so much trouble . . .

