I hate the first awkward days of adjusting to a new facility and a new team, and I hate breaking up at the end of the month. Especially peds – these are the nicest, kindest residents I’ve ever met (which may or may not be the same thing as the most educational or most competent; I can’t compare that as well across the different specialties). I’m going to miss them. And I’m going to miss the patients. My little CF baby – she’s probably going to be here for weeks, and probably every couple months for the next several years, and I won’t know anything about it. The grandmother looks a little suspicious of my fascination with her baby.

And, I don’t like outpatient rotations. I’m going to be close to home, which will be very nice as far as scheduling. I won’t have to wake up at unearthly hours of the morning. But I really really dislike offices. I don’t know why. There’s some kind of energy and power to a big hospital complex that I love. Offices to me are too much like a business, and I don’t value much of what they sell. But, at the end of May, it will be really and truly only one year to graduation, and I will get to spend the next three months in scrubs in the OR, and labor and delivery. If that’s not heaven, I’m making the wrong career choice.

The other thing I’m going to miss is knitting. It’s so relaxed here, I’ve appropriated the freedom to knit during class, and in the library, everywhere except morning report and rounds. One can’t quite do that in an office – especially in my hometown where everyone knows me – and you sure can’t do it around surgery people. I’m almost done with the sweater, though.

