Oh God, I need to get a grip on myself before I become a doctor. . .

My father had a single-car accident. He insisted on coming home. Then, while acting like he was in more pain than he’s ever let on to before, he mentioned that his arm felt numb. I freaked out. My younger sister, who is an EMT, insisted he needed to go to the hospital. I didn’t know whether to be very concerned, or to sympathize with his desire to lie down at home, not in a busy ER. My sister very calmly and professionally consulted our brother, also an EMT, then talked to the ER doctor, who obviously wanted him to come get an xray at least, right away. So my sister and I bundled him into the car and they’re off. He all the while protesting that it’s just whiplash and he wouldn’t be able to bend his neck – like this, see? – or move his arms – like this, see? – if he was seriously injured. So I was standing there wringing my hands and whimpering, to nobody’s benefit, while my sister arranged everything.

I do so desperately hope that either I will be calmer when it’s not a family member’s life or health at stake, or that I will learn in residency how to keep calm. At least in the OR there’s an accepted posture – arms folded – for when you don’t have anything to do. Maybe I should make my sister take me on runs, for experience.

Will now proceed to clean up a very disrupted dinner, and keep wringing my hands. . .

UPDATE: So they took a bunch of xrays and said he was fine. I’m sure the fact that he was bending his neck constantly and not falling down helped reach that conclusion. <deep breath> Now we can continue frantic preparations for my younger sister’s high school graduation tomorrow, with out-of-town guests. Recital, ceremony, and reception, all arranged by us. . .

