As you may guess by the number of “issues-oriented” posts today, I am not very busy. The University OB/GYNs do not have many patients in the hospital at once, so I spent the morning on the internet, getting residency advice from one of the surgery residents, and pretending to study. The afternoon I spent with a midwife at their office. I left my phone and beeper numbers with everyone, so the idea is that if anyone comes to the hospital tonight, I will get called. We’ll see how that works. Then I go in in the morning and round on the [three, so far] patients. If my intelligence system has been set up correctly, I should hear about any new patients, rather than being surprised by their appearance on the list, as usually happens to medical students. There was one very pregnant patient in clinic, so there should be one delivery for sure this week.

It feels so funny, being independent, and having a schedule on my own, and nobody cares if I get to clinic on time. The new third years look so lost and bewildered, they make me feel old. The only thing interfering with my complete enjoyment is, I am once again unable to decide between ob and surgery. (You may well observe that if I would stop trying to make a new decision every four days, I might feel better. This is quite true. Hopefully by February I’ll be able to pick something and stick to it!) My advisor asked what my goals for this rotation were, and I figured, whatever, I might as well be honest with her sooner rather than later, so I told her I was still trying to make up my mind. She of course started telling me why ob is good. But she is so puzzled by my insane idea of moving overseas, that she has difficulty giving me any advice. I need to stop telling people what I really think. A few secrets are good!

Ok, now I’m going to go tackle Williams’ Obstetrics (the 2000pp one). My goal for the rotation is to read it straight through, not skipping here and there, as I did on my third-year rotation.

