In light of my last post, I very much enjoyed  one exchange at my church’s yearly cookout yesterday evening. One mother was asking about my OB rotation, how much I had been allowed to do. I told her, “They actually let me deliver some of the babies. I don’t know whether the mothers appreciated that or not, since I’m not so experienced yet.” She said, “Oh, no, I would be happy to have you deliver my baby. You seem very confident and responsible.”

In church this morning there was a new girl from one of the local universities, who was visibly lost and uncomfortable from the other side of the sanctuary. I went and talked to her afterwards; she looked so much like I have felt, and continue to feel at work. I’m just hoping I don’t radiate misplacement as obviously now as I used to do.

