Isaiah is one of my favorite books of the Bible. There are prophecies about Jesus, as well as about his kingdom. I love prophecies that I know haven’t been fulfilled yet, because that has to be the best way to pray: to look at what God promised, and claim it. The second half of Isaiah is especially good. The first half just makes me think about the wickedness of this country, and the incredible judgment that has to be impending over us, and I can’t think of any really good reason (like ten righteous men in the city, or a new Josiah) why it shouldn’t happen.

Chapter 42
Behold my servant, whom I uphold; mine elect, in whom my soul delighteth; I have put my spirit upon him: he shall bring forth judgment to the Gentiles. . . He shall not fail nor be discouraged, till he have set judgment in the earth: and the isles shall wait for his law.
Lord, so many of your promises extend to “the uttermost parts of the earth,” and the isles – but Lord, come and look back here, right in the middle, where the medieval Christians thought the center of the world was: Jerusalem, the holy city of the Great King, and the holy land where you lived – it’s taken over and terrorized by evil men. And all the countries around it are in darkness, deceived by the false prophet (who was indeed antichrist: “Who is a liar, but he that denies that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son.” I John 2) Lord, your gospel has been preached on the other side of the world, and in the Pacific isles – but here at the center, Jews and Muslims alike live in blindness.

I the Lord have called thee in righteousness, and will hold thine hand, and will keep thee, and give thee for a covenant of the people, for a light of the Gentiles, to open the blind eyes, to bring out the prisoners from the prison, and them that sit in darkness out of the prison house.
What darkness, my Lord, these people live in, that for 1400 years they have been deliberately in ignorance of your love. Oh that you would open their eyes, that you would cause them to see, that you would give them understanding, that they could repent of their sins and be saved! Truly they are in prison, and they will never escape on their own, because no one can come to the Father unless he calls them. Lord, be pleased to call – not only thousands, but millions of Muslims, now, in this generation; call them, draw them to yourself, bring them out of darkness and prison.

I am the Lord: that is my name; and my glory will I not give to another, neither my praise to graven images.
So, O God, be angry at this false religion, which openly steals your glory, claiming to worship one true god, and giving your holy name to the moon god, and blaspheming against your triune nature. Dear God, there is no other religion which is so contrary to your glory; the others indeed all worship idols, which are idle and useless, and obviously helpless. But Islam denies your very nature, while pretending to worship one god; it denies the incarnation of your son, and his death and resurrection – thus dishonoring him, Father, whom you promised to glorify before the whole world, because he obeyed you perfectly. Please, Lord, defeat this wicked heresy; grant that even their teachers, the imams and mullahs, would be converted, and come to teach the truth, and glorify the One whom they now dishonor.

Let the wilderness and the cities thereof lift up their voice, the villages that Kedar doth inhabit: let the inhabitants of the rock sing, let them shout from the top of the mountains. Let them give glory unto the Lord, and declare his praise in the islands. . . .
I will bring the bling by a way that they knew not; I will lead them in paths that they have not known: I will make darkness light before them, and crooked things straight. These things will I do unto them, and not forsake them.

Remember us, Lord; remember your promises of old, let this be the day of salvation for thousands of Muslims who are now in darkness, trying to earn their way into heaven by keeping Ramadan. Let this be the last Ramadan ever for thousands of Muslims.

