I’ve kicked into major panic mode now, which is good because my attention span has tripled, and I no longer have to take frequent breaks to check the internet. This is expected to continue until I take Step 2 on Thursday, and will come to an abrupt conclusion around 2pm. (The test is supposed to take 8 hours, but I hate tests, and I hate sitting still, so in self-defense I take tests very fast.) Next time I should arrange to panic sooner, because at this rate I’m not going to finish all my study material. . .

Randomly: yesterday someone asked what grade I was in. That hasn’t happened for awhile. I guess the fact that she was a good ten inches taller than me may have had something to do with it.

When I’m not studying, I’m daydreaming about how I can get back into the OR or the trauma bay before next July. I’m almost ready to call the surgery department secretary, and check with him when other students are going to be on vacation, not on call, and maybe beg him to give me a trauma beeper. Or I could just show up on Saturdays, on the off chance that there’ll be a case scheduled, and no other students around. . .

I’m making a list of “things to absolutely study before becoming an intern”: right now: a readable radiology textbook with good pictures (I admire how surgeons – residents and interns too – can read their own studies – I need to know how to do that); ACLS and ATLS, because the cram courses are always too fast to really memorize anything; and Netter’s Anatomy, for the third time. . .

