Done, done, done, done, done!!!

Ahem. I finished in six hours, not counting breaks for lunch. Halfway through I got so flustered I thought the computer was skipping things on me, and dragged the proctors back to look; it turned the computer had only done what I had told it to do, gone back to the beginning of the section in order to review. Apart from making me look very idiotic, there were no bad effects from this. It was – interesting – to watch all the other test-taking people coming in and finishing long before me. As far as I could tell, there was no one else taking Step 2, but various nursing licensing and other state certification tests.

Thank you God – the test was not extremely hard. There were a handful of questions where I had no idea what they were talking about, but many more where I knew the answer for sure without even looking at the choices. As I had expected, it was mostly internal medicine type questions, with some ob/gyn, surgery, peds, and psych thrown in. The questions I got seemed to focus on respiratory ailments – fortunately not too many of the “if the patient presents with the following three serious medical conditions and five drugs, what do you expect their ABG to look like” – because I hate those. All the usual chestnuts were there; I won’t name them, in case any officials stumble across here, but you medical students all know those classic questions – you see two words in the first sentence, and you know what it’s about, even though you’ve probably neither seen nor heard of it all year on the wards.

I’m pretty certain I didn’t fail, and I don’t care right now how good or bad my score is. This is the last test that I’m going to care about the score on. After this – Step 3, in-service exams, licensing exams, recertification – I’ll just need to pass. It’ll be a pretty sorry sight if I’m trying to compete with the eleven other interns, or however many there are.

O could I speak the matchless worth,
O could I sound the glories forth which in my Savior shine,
I’d soar, and touch the heav’nly strings,
And vie with Gabriel while he sings in notes almost divine,
                          In notes almost divine.

I’d sing the precious blood he spilt,
My ransom from the dreadful guilt of sin, and wrath divine:
I’d sing his glorious righteousness,
In which all-perfect, heav’nly dress my soul shall ever shine,
                         My soul shall ever shine.

I’d sing the characters he bears,
And all the forms of love he wears, exalted on his throne:
In loftiest songs of sweetest praise,
I would to everlasting days make all his glories known,
                        Make all his glories known.

Well, the delightfull day will come
When my dear Lord will bring me home, and I shall see his face;
Then with my Savior, Brother, Friend 
A blest eternity I’ll spend, triumphant in his grace,
                       Triumphant in his grace.

Words by Samuel Medley, 1789 (isn’t that a perfect name for a hymnwriter?), tune by Mozart, arranged by Lowell Mason. Gorgeous.

