Things not to do when you’re on a surgery rotation:

9:30 pm, student who supposedly wants to be a surgeon says to senior resident, “Is it ok if I go to bed now?”
No further comment needed.

3am, intern has two more consults to see for the night. He says to the student, “How about if you see one and I see one, and then I’ll come see yours?” Student says, “Well, I have a big case tomorrow, so I think I’ll go get some sleep.”
The intern picks his jaw up off the floor and shares some pungent comments on the student’s total unnecessary-ness at the big case tomorrow.

Generally speaking, smile and say “I’d love to” when offered anything, either scut or the chance to scrub on a once-in-a-lifetime case, and everyone will love you. I’m wondering now, though, if it won’t be harder for me as an intern or resident to tell other people to do things, than to accept doing them myself.

Yesterday I saw Bob, starting his internal medicine rotation and looking appropriately downcast. I had regretted not telling him what a good job he did on ortho, so I caught up and told him; he was nicely encouraged, and said thank you to me. I personally thought I had just barely managed not to trip him up on multiple occasions, so it was very nice of him to say that I helped. I keep forgetting how easy it is to say thank you, and how much it means to the other person.

(My sister is preparing for an interview, and considering the slippery soles of her nice shoes. Our mother’s suggestion: Super-glue. My sister mimes being glued to one spot in the interview office. . . !)

