The only problem with reading Charlotte Yonge on my PDA during morning conference is coming to the end of the story, where she is alternately killing off and marrying off her characters in such a touching fashion that I can’t help crying – and since the presentation, on how to enter orders into the VA computer system, has absolutely no emotional content whatsoever, I tend to get funny looks from the residents.

I’ve rediscovered the VA’s portal to UpToDate, so today should be spent in a perusal of more useful information than yesterday’s blog-fest.

It’s a nuisance that the VA trains CRNA students. If it weren’t for that, I would escape into the OR and try to get some intubations. But every surgical patient here already has a full complement of trainees, so no chance for that.

