Me and my patients, thank God. Given the number of people who developed hypo or hyperkalemia around 7am this morning, I wasn’t sure that would be the case. I just realized that the computer ordering system means you have to know exactly what you want to order. No room for letting nurses interpret your guesses. . .

When my fellow interns had been paged three times within a few minutes of walking into the hospital, but my pager didn’t make a noise for an hour, I knew there was a problem. Sure enough, in addition to all the interns’ computer passwords not working, half of our pagers were broken too. I’m not sure why I was in such a hurry to get the pager working, since it immediately started going off once it was fixed. . . It’s still just barely a pleasurable sensation to be wanted. . . Gone by tomorrow afternoon, I’m sure.

My white cloud is back in force – nothing big happened. My pager went off enough that I now feel comfortable saying, “Hi, this is Dr. Alice. . .” And saying it goes long a way to helping carry off the charade that I’m a doctor. At least no one laughed when I said it!

PS. It’s difficult to simultaneously obey the two dictums, Be respectful to the nurses, and, Never trust anything anyone tells you. I need to get faster at logging onto the computer to doublecheck for myself.

