The first “day” on night float was great. Time flew by, not dragging as I had expected. Unlike Kitty, the ER timed their “coughs” of patients very well, right in between the crises on the floors. We had one sick patient, and I benefited from watching how the junior (Brad) managed his case, not panicking too soon, calling the attendings and presenting his concerns, and eventually transferring him to the unit. (I will say in regard to one of Panda Bear MD’s recent posts that as for not stopping to drink or visit the restroom for 12 hours straight, he should try covering 50 patients and 20 attendings, and see how much ins-and-outs one has time for. ER does not have a monopoly on busyness. 🙂  I discovered, again, the point of tiredness at which your feet hurt worse when you sit down than when you stand up; which just makes it easier to keep going.)

People had told me bad things about Brad coming into this, so I was a little edgy to start with, but for no reason. He knows what he’s doing. He is a little pompous, and likes to show me and the med student and the nurses how much he knows, but we could all stand to learn more, so I don’t object to that. To me, he was good, encouraging me to ask all kinds of questions, which is what I needed at the beginning of this month. He didn’t drop all the ER consults on me, which was tremendous, and he wants me to do as many lines and procedures as possible, which squares exactly with my goals for the month. So for my part, I have no objections to him. He’s friendly and very informal with patients; not quite my style, because I can’t relax that much yet, but it works for him.

(Similarly, there was an attending a month or two back whom some people dislike, but I am grateful to him, because my first few days on service, when I richly deserved to be chewed out for incompetent preparation for rounds, he was supportive rather than crushing. Which was so much contrary to my desserts and my expectation that I can’t share any one else’s disregard for him. And it worked fine, because I felt almost more humiliated by his kindness than by any reproaches, so I was very motivated to get my act in order.)

I’m also looking forward to having medical students around again (on call). They’re so enthusiastic and eager to help and learn, and their questions push me to be prepared and educated myself. This is going to be a good month. This hospital has good people. (We’ll talk some other time about the nurses who call to inform me that they’re going to give a patient a prescribed dose of pain medicine.)

