It felt as though I was having a contest with myself to see how many idiotic things I could do in the first real work day with a new junior resident, chief, and attendings who haven’t had me around before. I won, hands down. Some things you would think would take intelligence to mess up that badly. And the attending already thinks I’m a slacker, or something, because I’ve been off-service so much he’s never seen me around till now. And here I was determined to keep this service – notoriously always wildly busy and never in order – completely in order: all the right orders, all discharges early in the day, up to speed on all patients. Yeah right. Now I can spend the rest of the month trying to live down the reputation for irresponsible insanity I no doubt created today. I shudder to think of what the attendings say in their private office: “Have you had that Alice on your team yet?” “Yeah, she’s something else. You never knew what she was going to forget next.” Ahh. . .

At least in the morning I somehow managed to spend fifteen minutes each with two separate patients, explaining things and calming them down, and not be late for rounds. The result is that when the attending came to round, the patients had no idea who the attending or the chief was, but they knew me. Fun.

